Discussing Language #CultureTrav

culturetrav chat on language

Language #CultureTravMastering a new language or applying a foreign language during travel can be very exciting. But, sometimes, despite our best efforts, language gets “lost in translation.” We recently hosted #CultureTrav about “Language: Lost in Translation.”

We asked travelers if they’re multilingual, and how the knowledge of multiple languages helps them during travel. We wondered if people taught their own languages while traveling to locals or strangers. We were also curious as to which keywords or phrases travelers prepared to learn before they left on a trip – lots of “hellos, how are yous, thank yous,” and questions about the nearest restroom, and food/drinks (wine and coffee were especially popular). And, we asked what role language plays in a country’s culture, as well as wondering how travelers dealt with mispronouncing something in the foreign language.

Read the Shared Story of Lost In Translation.

Comment
Want to share your impressions of language or have something to add? Comment below!

Join The Chat

Our next #CultureTrav chat is Thursday, April 2 at 2:30 ET.

Read the questions in advance via: http://nicoletteorlemans.com/culturetrav/

Chat time converter: 
PT 11:30 (11:30 a.m.)
EST 14:30 (2:30 p.m.)
UTC or GMT 18:30 (6:30 p.m.)
CET 20:30 (8:30 p.m.)
GST 23:30 (11:30 p.m.)

Let us know what you think